Xaircraft x650v4 - Wookong M Configuration

Discussion in 'DJI General Discussions Forum' started by jhardway, Oct 18, 2011.

  1. jhardway

    jhardway Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    317
    Hi All

    I am fairly new to the RC world so there are things I am just finding myself stuck on from time to time. This one has to to with the Wookong M auto pilot system. I bought for my Xaircraft 650v4 however when I go to hook the DJI system, using the Xaircraft ESC's, I am not getting any control of the motors, they just keep running at a constant RPM. I have clipped the red power wire and In the Wookong Management Assistant I can see all my control inputs acting properly, including the throttle.

    I read about, i guess calibrating you ESC's and for kicks I hooked a esc, motor, and battery straight to my receiver's(JR921x24) throttle input, I end up getting the same response as if the motors were hooked to the Wookong M flight system (constant RPM). My question what am I missing??? Are Xaircraft ESC's compatible to the DJI system? If so, I am open to suggestions.

    Thanks Jack
     
  2. IrisAerial

    IrisAerial The Village Idiot

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    3,391
    Location:
    Alameda,CA
    If you plug your esc and motor direct to the receiver and that didnt work you have problems. Do you have a normal esc to try as a test? As far as I know the only difference in the Xaircraft esc's is they are higher frequency PWM. So who knows, maybe they do need the Xaircraft FC to operate. I did notice in the setup for my normal esc's that it has an option of using normal or ultraPWM escs.
     
  3. RTRyder

    RTRyder Merlin of Multirotors

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,149
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    The short answer is no the Xaircraft ESCs aren't compatible. The Turnigy Plush series seem to work very well with the WKM controller, also DYS, and HK Blue series are all variations of the same ESC and will work.

    Ken
     
  4. jhardway

    jhardway Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    317
    Well thanks for clearing that up, I do not like to jump to conclusions but after getting some other responses, from here and other mails I through out there. It looks like I am going shopping for new ESC's, since I am doing that any suggestion on motors that would help me beef up my systems lift capabilities, I would like to use the frame but I am right at the cuff for the weight the motors can handle, I would like to get a little more in the safe category. Many thanks again.
     
  5. Droider

    Droider Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    4,721
    Location:
    Lancashire Great Britain
    Geoff @ quadcopters.co.uk set up his Xaircraft with the wookong.. drop him a pm or email via his site for his set up

    Dave
     
  6. Bartman

    Bartman smallUAVcoalition.org Staff Member Small UAV Coalition Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6,296
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    the xaircraft esc's use a different pulse-length range than regular esc's.

    "Pulse width between 200us and 1200us can be used for power tuning. "

    If you can set your range for the esc's in the firmware then you should be able to use them. this was also a problem with the OpenPilot CopterControl board but it was overcome by using the 200-1200 range.

    here's the page of the XAircraft Wiki
    http://www.xaircraft.com/wiki/UltraPWM(en)
     
  7. RTRyder

    RTRyder Merlin of Multirotors

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,149
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    There's no way to do that in the WKM software, it's built for standard PWM ESCs with no ability to change it to anything else.

    Ken
     
  8. Emowillcox

    Emowillcox New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    493
    Location:
    Texas, USA
  9. DennyR

    DennyR New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,937
    Location:
    Cyprus
    I used cheap Hi-Model 30 Amp ESC's on one of my heavy lift quads with 3538 motors swinging 14x4.7 props. No problems with stabilisation straight out of the box. I did try inflight adjustments but ended up with stock settings. The only thing that I do see is a slight drop off in performance as the voltage starts to drop. Advanced warning!!!
     
  10. paktazh

    paktazh New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    313

    Does any one know what amp the ESC has to be to work with xaircraft motor i just want upgrade mine to dji naza
    thanks
     

Share This Page