1. rdalemercer

    rdalemercer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    USA
    I received my GPS unit and it is installed. Assistant software is updated to v1.6 and all seems to be well. I have confirmed calibration of the TX including the GPS / Atti / Manual modes.

    a. When installing the GPS unit, I have chosen to use the mounting bracket and the rod, effectively placing the GPS unit ~5cm above the level of the MC (as measured from the center of the MC to the center of the GPS unit).

    b. The base is mounted in the center of the F450, with the rod extending above the frame.

    c. The GPS unit s mounted to the top of the rod, utlizing the included round mounting plate.

    --> This is where I have a question:
    1. In the "Mounting" tab, for the "Z" axis, I have entered 5(cm)
    2. I have left the "X" and "Y" both at "0"
    3. The "Tail" of the GPS is pointing to the BACK of the F450

    Any information regarding my installation would be greatly appreciated.

    Dale.
     
  2. Bison52

    Bison52 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    165
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    Wouldn't the z axis measurement be closer to 10 cm? I have a 550 but using the rod supplied with the GPS unit, with the base mounted in the same plane as the top plate and the FC mounted on the bottom plate, the height of the center of the GPS to the center of the FC is just about 10 cm. The COG along the Z axis is just about the center of the FC in my setup too.
     
  3. suddenincline

    suddenincline New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    Foristell, Mo
    if by tail you mean the little arrow where the wire comes in needs to face to the front or it will crash!

    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2
     
  4. rdalemercer

    rdalemercer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    USA
    Bison 52 -
    You are correct.
    The openng (gap) between the two plates (top and bottom) is 4cm + the rod heigth to the center of the GPS disc = 11.5 cm
     
  5. rdalemercer

    rdalemercer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks suddenincline. It seem counter intuative that the cable (tail) would face the front.

    I failed to pick up on that little detail on page 8 where is shows the perspective picture for the NAZA unit (Aircraft Nose -->) and the text box under the picture of the GPS disc.
     
  6. suddenincline

    suddenincline New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    Foristell, Mo
    seems to me they would have you know mentioned that in the manual more than ohhhh once lol

    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2
     
  7. rdalemercer

    rdalemercer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    USA
    Yup. Maybe even printing the word "FRONT" on the GSP disc? ...it's the simple things that are usually missed...
     
  8. suddenincline

    suddenincline New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    Foristell, Mo
    lol that would be to easy, however i'm not gonna complain to much it works like a charm!

    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2
     
  9. suddenincline

    suddenincline New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    Foristell, Mo
    i want to shut off my controller in flight to see the fail safe fly home and land work but can't get myself to do it :)

    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2
     
  10. Bison52

    Bison52 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    165
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    Suddeninline, it was the hardest thing in the world to shut the transmitter off and trust to the multirotor gods but I finally worked up the courage just today. It sure was sweet to to see the bird climb to altitude, head back to me from 150 yards out, descend and land almost at my feet.

    Looking back I might have set up the 3way switch for the flight mode channel so that the third position triggered failsafe instead of manual. That way I could fly it out in atti or GPS and trigger failsafe with the switch without turning off the tx. If failsafe didn't work, could have tried to regain control by switching back to atti or GPS. Quicker than waiting for tx to power back up and reconnect.

    Thankfully for me it worked correctly.
     
  11. rdalemercer

    rdalemercer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    USA
    I think I'll go to the local park - when it's deserted - and try it there. I usually fly around the house but there are too many 'opportunities' for things to go wrong.
     
  12. chipwich

    chipwich New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Messages:
    168
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA USA
    I mounted my GPS stalk using the bolts on the right hand side arm with the theory that it would be exactly 90 degrees off of the MC mounting location ion forward direction of flight. Even though I wasn't able to calibrate my compass, it flew brilliantly yesterday. Video later today.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. thehatguy

    thehatguy New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    The Colony, TX
    Did you use CA to attach the mast to the mounts?

    John
     
  14. suddenincline

    suddenincline New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    Foristell, Mo
    I used CA some have used epoxy

    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2
     
  15. rdalemercer

    rdalemercer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    USA
    John,
    I also used CA (medium) to mount the post/rod to the two brackets - and let it cure overnight.

    I used velcro to mount the bottom bracket (shaped as an "X" or "+" depending on your viewpoint) to the center of the top place just above the NAZA MC.

    One arm of the bracket fits under the vecro srip that I mount the battery to so I believe that it will be (is) secure.

    Dale.
     
  16. suddenincline

    suddenincline New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    Foristell, Mo
    I think setting up failsafe on a switch would be a awsome feature to use once in a while
     
  17. chipwich

    chipwich New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Messages:
    168
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA USA
    Per a post at RCG (not my idea), I used a pair of Dubro Dura-Collars 5/32". After sanding off the chrome off of one side with a little bit of emery cloth, I used thick CA to glue one on the base and one on the antenna using the shaft to line them up. This way I can adjust them without unbolting from the platform.
     
  18. Rc Pitstop

    Rc Pitstop New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    I have both my Naza and Wookong set with failsafe instead of manual on the three position switch, really handy especially when I lost video mid FPV flight and it was out of eye sight....
     

Share This Page