F450 Battery

skipper1

Noob here, DJI Flame Wheel F450 kit will be here soon. I'm getting the version that allows for 4S batteries. What mah should I be looking at? And what batteries seem to be the most successful for you?

Tahoe Ed

With the 4S you need to use the 8" props. I tried a 4S 4000mah and I think it is too heavy, 3000mah might be better. With 3S and 10" props, I get about 8-8:30 in flight times on a 2650mah battery. I would say that is pretty close to ideal for what I am looking for.

mailman35

i recently got 2 4000mah's and im getting 12-14min depending how how hard a fly it. still playing with the gains to find a level thats good for me.

skipper1

With the 4S you need to use the 8" props. I tried a 4S 4000mah and I think it is too heavy, 3000mah might be better. With 3S and 10" props, I get about 8-8:30 in flight times on a 2650mah battery. I would say that is pretty close to ideal for what I am looking for.

Thanks for jumping in there, Ed. Your post with the video on how to build the 450 is what nudged me into getting one. You certainly do make it look easy.
Here's a question. On the newer 450's, you you have your choice of using either 3S or 4S, just make sure you have the correct size props? If that's the case, I might just stick with the 3S but is nice to have a choice.
What size of 3S batteries (mah) are you using and is there any specific brands that seem to last longer?

Last edited by a moderator:

mailman35

the kit comes with both 8's and 10's so u are good there just gotta get a good charger for the lipo's
its a fun thing to fly:p
i got 5 bats and i was out for 90 or 120min today :p

mailman35

yeh the 4000's where a pain to solder up to the deans connector, had to strip then trim down the available wire then tin it, and then solder it up.
and yeah tahoe eds review is what sold me, i was looking at the fyetech x4pro but then i started reading the iffy reviews on teh fc's made me think differently :p