Dji Led/Bluetooth extension and IOS APP - Hands on

Discussion in 'DJI General Discussions Forum' started by BorisS, Apr 24, 2013.

  1. BorisS

    BorisS Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    3,434
    Location:
    Austria, Vienna
    Hi guys got the chance to check out the new led from DJI with it bluetooth extension.
    Actually like the new approach DJI is taking with the new GUI for their PC assistant.
    Better layout and more to the point. Before thing looked a little hacked together.
    Same goes for the IOS App. Nice clear structure.

    Overview of the client:

    General Basic View of your copters settings.

    [​IMG]

    Top Slider for arming on and off. Than under Basic settings you have the following options:

    [​IMG]

    Splitting up into Aircrft, preconfigured Mixer-Tables :

    [​IMG]

    Mounting IMU orientation and location for IMU and GPS

    [​IMG]
    RC Setting plus calibration:

    [​IMG]

    Gains, also nice possible to trim during flight ! Advanced is also included but not on this screenshot !

    [​IMG]

    And Tools, were you get the option to start the compass calibration :

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 24, 2013
  2. BorisS

    BorisS Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    3,434
    Location:
    Austria, Vienna
    Going on Advanced settings splitts into the following:

    [​IMG]

    Motor, start up speed:

    [​IMG]

    Failsafe and the different options

    [​IMG]

    IOC choosing On of Off and which controls used

    [​IMG]

    Gimbal on off an the gains and travel points

    [​IMG]

    Usual Voltage setting

    [​IMG]

    And limits

    [​IMG]

    Last TAB is More gives you an option to export import you settings. If i understood it correclty DJI will be offering a cloud service for this !

    [​IMG]

    Overall I like it. Since I am a osx user the steps to getting to config a bird were long. Boot up the Notebook get the Vmware to run a Windows version than start the assistant and physically connect via bluetooth. Actually it adds to safetly also, especially at the moment were you say should I double check and you dont since you dont want to hook up the assitant again, well with the app you will double check !

    Boris
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 24, 2013
  3. ChrisViperM

    ChrisViperM Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,875
    Location:
    Cape Town - South Africa
    As much as I am tending to get away from DJI, at least this App with the BT-module looks sleek.....comes in very handy to tune the bird in the field without a "Schlepp-Top"....


    Chris
     
  4. PeteDee

    PeteDee Mr take no prisoners!

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Yum, I so want this for Android!!

    Have it for my Tarot ZYX-S controller, apparently coming for my 3GX, makes life very easy at the field.

    Pete
     
  5. BorisS

    BorisS Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    3,434
    Location:
    Austria, Vienna
    What would be cool would be some more telemetry and maybe a HUD, but lets see what comes ! Gonna make a flight video this weekend when I maiden the x8 and use it to tune the gains !

    Boris

    (edit) yeah as far as i know they are coming out with a Android version !
     
  6. BorisS

    BorisS Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    3,434
    Location:
    Austria, Vienna
    By the way if you use the LED module. Take are that your IOS device as a 6.01 or above IOS version running. I was messing arround for a couple weeks having inconsistency when try to connect because I still had my Iphone on a 5.XX IOS version !

    Boris
     
  7. Richardt1808

    Richardt1808 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Bangkok
    Hi Boris,Where did you get your LED module from ? I've been keeping an eye for them online but most places only have pre-order.
     
  8. BorisS

    BorisS Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    3,434
    Location:
    Austria, Vienna
    I got it as a test unit a couple week ago already, But i never got it to work ! But it wasnt DJI fault is was me not reading the instructions that you IOS device has to be updated to 6.01 version and i was on 5 something. Think copterworx should have them on the 30 th ! Boris
     
  9. SMP

    SMP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    857
    Location:
    Miami Florida & Doha Qatar
    Forgive my ignorance, but is this the LED module available as an upgrade to existing Naza-WKM/V1? or does this require WookongV2.
     
  10. BorisS

    BorisS Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    3,434
    Location:
    Austria, Vienna
    I have it install on a normal WKM V1 with the latest firmware and assistant. It will not work with the naza. Naza doesnt have a physical can-bus socket were it would fit. If they are planning something for the naza I cant say !Boris
     

Share This Page