Differences between Naza-M V1 / V2 and Lite

Discussion in 'DJI NAZA flight control system' started by BigbearFibn, Jun 12, 2013.

  1. BigbearFibn

    BigbearFibn New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    [h=2]Differences between Naza-M V1 / V2 and Lite[/h]
    Differences between Naza-M V1 / V2 and Lite
    What is difference between those Naza-M family boards?
    Do they have same hardware like sensors and processor and so on. Is there difference in software?

    I am buying Naza-M lite or V2 but there is quite big price difference too.​
     
  2. redridinghood

    redridinghood New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    913
    Location:
    Cyprus
  3. ProPilotWannaBe

    ProPilotWannaBe New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    813
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA
    BigBear, welcome to the forum, but please do not post same question in two discussion threads/categories. It makes it difficult for the users to have a cohesive thread to allow full discussion and keeps everyone from seeing the full set of responses/answers. Have fun picking a flight controller and any aircraft you build with it!
     
  4. BigbearFibn

    BigbearFibn New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Sorry that was my mistake. I didnt first notice DJI Naza subforum. Moderators should delete the other thread what I started.

    Thank you for precise information about different Naza M versions. Do they have same hardware and how they compare in flying and hovering? I am planning to buy flamewheel 550 frame with Naza V2 or Lite
     
  5. BigbearFibn

    BigbearFibn New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    copied from other thread. Good info
     
  6. ProPilotWannaBe

    ProPilotWannaBe New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    813
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA
    No worries.
    The hardware (i.e. ports in and out of the Naza) will be a little different because of the external hardware it is intended to support; but more importantly, the flying and performance is the same from everything I have read, so no worries there.
    If you expect to do any somewhat serious video work, I would go with the V2. I forgot to mention, but to use the new Zenmuse gimbal for the GoPro camera, you can't use the Lite version. So for you, the big differences would be: 1) support for DJI On-Screen Display, and 2) support for new Zenmuse GoPro gimbal. Neither of these are needs for a recreational pilot; but if you want to grow into some good video capabilities, you should consider the V2.
     
  7. BigbearFibn

    BigbearFibn New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    I have eagletree datalogger what I could use with eagletree OSD to have same onscreen options like DJI OSD. Can I use third party gimbal with external gimbal control with Lite version? (I dont know why not because its external component)

    Basic question is that how sensors and flight algorithms are different in Lite vs V2.
     
  8. ProPilotWannaBe

    ProPilotWannaBe New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    813
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA
    My understanding from reading the DJI information on their website:
    1) Yes, you can run other 3rd party gimbal on the Lite and has the same outputs (pitch and roll) for that as the V1 and V2.
    2) The sensor and flight control algorithms are the same between all three Naza models.
     
  9. Burntpixel

    Burntpixel Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    Georgia
    I,m putting together a Phantom from stock DJI parts. The internal workings of the Phantom I am building is the same as a factory model.I have yet to get a Naza for it. What I,d like to know is which "Naza" to put in it and how once I have done so,program it properly. Thanks for any advice.
     
  10. ProPilotWannaBe

    ProPilotWannaBe New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    813
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA
    BurntPixel... See my comments above, but if you plan to use DJI's OSD and/or Zenmuse gimbal on it, then you'll need to go with V1 or V2. Otherwise, you can go with the Lite version and use 3rd party OSD and gimbal.
    As for "programming" it, don't know exactly what you mean, but I would start by running the Assistant Software on your original Phantom you have, and page by page write down the settings from the one. Then using the Assistant Software on the new Naza/Phantom, configure it just like the original.
     

Share This Page