APM 2.5 & NAZA Flight Mode comparison

Discussion in 'Arduino/MultiWii Forum' started by irvan36mm, May 21, 2013.

  1. irvan36mm

    irvan36mm New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Hello!
    I picked-up an APM 2.5 controller a couple of months ago & am getting ready to
    install it into my QAV400 quad.
    How do the APM 2.5 flight modes compare to the NAZA flight modes?

    -George
     
  2. sixshooterstang

    sixshooterstang Bird's Eyes Aerial Media

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    254
    Location:
    Raymore, MO
    Do you mean which is each mode equal to or how do they compare in terms of performance?
     
  3. irvan36mm

    irvan36mm New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Yes, which mode is equal to which.
     
  4. sixshooterstang

    sixshooterstang Bird's Eyes Aerial Media

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    254
    Location:
    Raymore, MO
    Acro mode I believe is either still acro with Naza or manual mode.
    Stabilize is the same as attitude (self righting)
    Altitude hold... self explanatory for both.
    Loiter Mode is the same as having GPS Hold and Altitude Hold on with Naza
    RTL is the same as Naza's Return to Home
    Circle, Auto Waypoint, etc... are all APM only
     
  5. irvan36mm

    irvan36mm New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Thanks for answering this!
    I will plan on using 3 modes on my APM 2.5:
    Stabilize,Loiter & RTL.

    -George
     
  6. sixshooterstang

    sixshooterstang Bird's Eyes Aerial Media

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    254
    Location:
    Raymore, MO
    If you have a radio with a ch7 you can use ch 7 for RTL and open up a third spot for say circle, acro, or auto waypoint
     
  7. boosted2000si

    boosted2000si New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    There is a video on youtube that shows you how to use the mixing of a 2 channel switch and the 3 position switch to get all 6 mods. I have Stabalize, Loiter, and ALT H, then flip a switch and it goes to Auto, RTL, and Land. Pretty cool. I also programmed another switch to turn simple mode on and then a 4th switch to set auto trim. Come to think of it I guess I loaded my controller up pretty well.

    I did the same with the DJI on my same controller. I have GPS, Atti, and Manual and then another switch activates RTL all on the same channel. Then I programmed another switch to turn the IOC on, and again another switch to go from Home lock and Course lock.

    I had to go a little involved due to my remote, 9xr, only having 1 3 position switch.
     
  8. sixshooterstang

    sixshooterstang Bird's Eyes Aerial Media

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    254
    Location:
    Raymore, MO
    Exactly. All depends on preferences. What mode you do an dont want. For my case, I don't need circle, auto land, acro or simple so I have my 3 pos as stab, alt hold, loiter and a switch that is a quick easy reach for RTL. I needd to mix in so that I can have auto in there too
     
  9. Toypilot

    Toypilot New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Just saw a 6 position rotary switch on EBay, you swap out one of your 2/3 position switches and install this special rotary switch on your transmitter. Seems to have adjustable pots for position 2,3,4,5 and use end points for position 1 & 6. Sure seems much more simple than programming your Tx and using switch banking etc. Looks like an easy project, I believe they show pictures of the install on a Turnigy 9 channel system. This switch was designed to be used with the APM 2.5 and solve the mode switching programming issue.
     
  10. Bartman

    Bartman smallUAVcoalition.org Staff Member Small UAV Coalition Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6,304
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    that's a pretty cool idea, can you post the link to the ebay listing please?
     

Share This Page